About The Council

Bourn has a maximum of nine Councillors and these come up for election every four years. The Parish Council is the first stage in the democratic process, and aims to care for all the affairs of the Parish and ensure that at all times, statutory requirements are met.

In order to do this, close liaison is maintained with the rest of the local authorities, South Cambridgeshire District and Cambridgeshire County Council, the Environment Agency, Cambridgeshire Constabulary, and so on.

For the benefit of the residents the Parish Council administers public funds to provide and maintain play equipment, public seats, litter bins and such. It also contracts for some public services like grass cutting on the playing fields and open spaces.

The roads, pavements, fences, hedging and trees are the responsibility of the County or District Council, or the landowner, but the Parish Council will always take an interest in everything within the parish and liaise accordingly on a resident’s behalf where appropriate.

The Parish Council also acts as agent of the County under the Parish Paths Scheme to maintain and improve the thirty public footpaths in the parish.

Bourn Parish Council is a member of the Coalition of Parish Councils which provides a forum for 23 parish councils located in the A428 corridor west of Cambridge to speak with one voice on matters that affect everyone in the area.

Desmond O’Brien

Chairman and Councillor

Les Rolfe

Vice-Chair and Councillor

Sarah Jaggers


Basil Jaques


Neil Stutchbury


Gerhard Smith


Emily Pacey

Parish Clerk