The Roles and Responsibilities

of Parish Councillors

(and those residents of the village who have kindly volunteered to help)

There are no sub-committees – only working groups or individual responsibilities


Affordable Housing – Cllrs Rolfe (convenor) and Blair

Allotments liaison – Cllr Rolfe

Bourn Youth Project – Suzanne Armitage and Jan Burrell

Cambourne Parish Council liaison – Cllr Bruce

Coalition of Parish Councils – Cllrs Blair and Jones

Code of Conduct – Parish Clerk and SCDC Monitoring Officer

Environment -

     Bourn Flood Group liaison – Cllr Bruce

     Brook Maintenance – Nigel Ball

     Sustainable Parish Energy Partnership – Cllr Blair

     Tree Warden/s – Cllr Jones and Hilary Gretton

Finance overseeing – Cllrs Blair (convenor) and Jones

Highways, inc Cambourne bus link – Cllrs Bruce and O'Brien

     Traffic Monitoring and Speedwatch liaison - Cllrs Bruce and Jones

Human Resources - Cllrs Blair, Jaggers and Jones

Keyholder (including Sports Pavilion, except noticeboards) – Cllr Bruce

Neighbourhood Planning – Cllrs Blair, Bruce, Jaggers and Rolfe

Neighbourhood Watch liaison – Cllr Bruce

Newsletter, quarterly and Annual Report -

     Content – Cllr Jaggers (editor) and ALL Councillors

     Distribution – Cllr Jaggers (printed copy) and Cllr Rolfe (website)

Noticeboards – Cllr Rolfe

Planning – Cllr Jones (convenor), Blair, Bruce and Rolfe

Police liaison – Cllr Bruce

Public Rights of Way -

     Bridleways – Cllr Bruce

     Footpaths – Angela Marcham and Graham Bruce

Recreation Grounds (Jubilee Playing Fields, Hall Close Play Area and Broadway Play Area, including all play equipment) – Frank Haxton (as operational inspector) with regular assistance from volunteers, liaising with Parish Clerk.

Solar Farm (S106) payment projects – Cllr Jaggers

Schools liaison -

     (Bourn Academy primary) – Cllr Blair

     (Comberton/Cambourne Village Colleges) – 

Sports Club liaison – Cllrs Jaggers and O'Brien (as trustees)

StopBAD liaison – Cllr Jones

Village Hall – Cllrs Bruce and Rolfe (as trustees)

Website – Cllr Rolfe

Winter Gritting – Cambridgeshire County Council


The Chairman is an ex-officio member of all groups.


updated 31 December 2017




site map | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement